Posted by: Lisa | February 16, 2013

Routine

Getting into a workable routine has been a bit of a challenge since Calina’s arrival. (As if my how-many-month-long blog absence didn’t already announce that!) It hasn’t necessarily been adding a fourth child, but rather the fact that the children are all growing and so are their needs. Even before my eyes were open in the morning, there was the feeling that I was at the starting line of a race.

Ready?

Set?

RUN!

A single word summed up what was needed. Discipline. For the kids, sure, but moreso for me.

I think I’ve mentioned before how I am just not a natural early riser. I have been trying for all 6 years of my motherhood experience to start my day at 7am. But my children think if the sun is up, it’s time to wake up! Imagine! πŸ™‚ Making them stay in their room until 7am didn’t work because, well… have you seen what kind of a mess a 3 and 5 year old can make while they wait over an hour for “the day to start”?

Desperate times called for desperate measures! For the past couple weeks, 5:30 is when my day has started. *gasp*

Me getting up well before the children, having a couple minutes to discuss the day’s plans with my husband, read my Bible and begin exercising before the little sleepy-eyed, tousle haired children begin staggering out of their rooms has made a huge difference in our days. School is starting earlier, attitudes are better, meals are healthier…

Just look at these smiles! (It only took three tries to get one of them all smiling rather than acting goofy. πŸ™‚ )

20130128-211728.jpg

Every day is still a race, for sure. I think it always will be. That is just the nature of life! Isn’t that the gist of Hebrews 12:1? But a few weeks into this desire for God to show me how to implement more discipline into our lives has me thinking that maybe rising with the sun isn’t such a bad idea. πŸ™‚ I’m still no early bird, but maybe I can say I’m beginning to acquire a taste for what that early bird sees in those early hours. πŸ™‚

Coming up soon… A fun Valentines project I did for the kiddos!

Responses

  1. Hi LIsa,

    I hope you see this, even though the post is old. I’m filing my huge inbox load! I, too, am not an early riser, but Ken and I worked out a long time ago that I need to be up and calling the children at 6:30. That’s right. I have to call them. If I don’t, they can sleep until 8, 9, or 10! I don’t know why other people’s children get up early. Wish I understood what makes different body clocks go off at different times. πŸ™‚ But I was so afraid after Ken died that I would go back to my old 9 am rising. Well, I haven’t (except for a few exceptions) because the Lord wakes me up. HE calls ME and then I call the KIDS. You will always be glad you trained your mind to get up earlier. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

