Posted by: Lisa | July 31, 2012

Fudge Brownies

My girls and I do a lot of baking together. It’s a great way to get something done while also spending time talking to and teaching them! Ever since Felicia was old enough to sit strongly, she’s been on the counter next to me while I prepare our foods. We cook a lot “from scratch”, so there’s always something needing to be stirred up- tortillas for the freezer, salsa with the extra tomatoes, chocolate sauce… we don’t need a reason to make that, do we? 🙂

One of Damon’s favorite desserts/snacks is brownies. There is a recipe in one of my books that is so easy and moist, and I appreciate that it calls for ingredients that are easily accessible even here on the edge of a third world country! It’s our “go-to” brownie recipe for when our DaddyMan needs a snack around. I thought I’d share some photos of the girls helping make them. The recipe is at the bottom of the post. 🙂

Natalie takes her job of stirring quite seriously.

Felicia likes getting all decked out in full baking gear for any kitchen occasion! She cracks me up. I mean, how easy can it be to stir with those mitts on?

While we baked, Joey enjoyed his snack of peas. Hey, gotta get the healthy snacks in them while you can! 😉

I didn’t get any photos of the baked brownies- but we all know what a basic brownie looks like anyway, right? Besides, I’m a terrible food photographer! 🙂

FUDGE BROWNIES

1 1/3 cups flour
2 cups sugar
3/4 cup baking cocoa
2 tablespoons instant coffee granules, opt.
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup vegetable oil
4 eggs, lightly beaten
2 teaspoons vanilla
chocolate chips/chunks, opt.

In a mixing bowl, combine the first six ingredients. Make a well in the center; blend wet ingredients in well. Combine wet and dry ingredients. Do not overmix. Spread in a 13×9 in pan. Sprinkle with chocolate chips/chunks if desired. Bake at 350* for 20-25 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Do not overbake or they won’t be “fudgy”!

YIELD:
about 2 dozen (when Lisa cuts them)
about 10 (when Damon cuts them!)

And don’t forget to let little helpers lick the bowl! 😉

Responses

  1. I liked how the yield changed when a different person cut the brownies. 🙂 Also, I like how you spoil your DaddyMan. I didn’t do that enough, trying to keep everyone healthy. If I had it to do over again, I would just forget all that healthy stuff and spoil, spoil, spoil! 🙂

  2. I should say, Treat, treat, treat. 🙂

    • We try to eat fairly healthy most of the time- did you notice Joey’s snack? haha! Damon is pretty good about pacing himself, though. Even when the brownies are cut “Daddy size”, half the batch goes in the freezer, so it makes it easier to want to “spoil” him!

  3. Thanks for sharing! My recipe calls for margarine which is pretty pricey here. Looking forward to a reason to make these! Is our 3rd day of school an excuse enough? 🙂

    • That’s why I like this recipe- oil instead of butter/margarine! And no chocolate squares! Completing 3 days of school is definitely reason to celebrate. Make the brownies! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

