Posted by: Lisa | July 15, 2012

Sickies

I’ve so many posts just waiting to be typed out and shared, but we’ve been dealing with sickies lately, and that always diminishes Mommy’s free time! Things seem to be calming down a bit now… But doesn’t his little expression just tug at your heart? How can you not want to pick up, cuddle and comfort him?

This sickness seems to take a day or two to get started, hit intensely for at least 48 hours, then several days of rebuilding strength. And it’s hitting us one at a time. Well, only two have gotten it- we’re hoping it stays at that number! Just going through two of us has taken a full week!

The Lord has really used this time of “getting nothing done” to teach me more about my relationship with Him as it mirrors my relationship with my children. That seems to happen a lot! (For example- how exhausting it is when your children complain! Or how much your heart hurts when you see them hurting.)

I know one lesson this week has been to be still! It’s so easy for me to want to gauge my life’s success by how many check-marks I have on my list at the end of the day. With my due date and our trip to Kitwe looming closer and closer, there were so many projects that I’d hoped to accomplish this week. But I know cuddling my children and giving them security and clean sheets while they’re sick is way more important than starting this next school year early or finishing up those curtains. So, we tried out a few fun crafts they could be involved in, added more “read together” time into our days, and just enjoyed being still together.

But, I’ll be ready to attack the “to-do” list when they’re all better! 🙂

Responses

  1. Aww, get better soon, my friends!

  2. Oh dear…such a sad face!! 😦 Hope everyone is feeling much better soon!!

  3. “Being still together” is a life skill that we all need to learn, Lisa. How blessed your family is to learn it at a young age. May God bless your efforts today! Mrs. M


Leave a Reply

Categories

