Posted by: Lisa | March 21, 2012

“The Best Day Ever”

Those are the words that came out of my 5 year old’s mouth at the end of our busy Sunday. And I had to agree with her. It was a pretty great day!

We haven’t done a lot of traveling to the bush with Damon since our move to more rural Chipata. Thirty to sixty minute drives one way combined with 3-5 hour services just seemed a little daunting with three children 4 and under. 🙂 But this past Sunday, we all went.  Of course, now our 3 children are five and under, so that makes a big difference. 😉

Felicia was SO excited to be going to the bush with Daddy that she spent her entire Sunday morning drawing pictures for all her “little friends” that she’d meet there. It was precious seeing her hand them out once we arrived! She and Natalie even passed out stickers while Joey tried tasting the dirt. 😉

The rows (“pews”) inside the church weren’t that long, so I sat with Joey and the girls sat behind me while Damon was on the mens’ side. Heh, works nice for them, huh? 🙂 Anyway, the service went GREAT. It was nice getting to hear Damon preach on “Walking”. (Walking in Light, Walking in Love, Walking in Truth)

Anyway, here’s a photo of the church. Cozy, no? I loved how the design allowed for airflow. Ah… sweet breezes!

We’ve been experiencing a lot of load shedding (planned power outages) lately, and it’s so easy to feel frustrated or like I’m constantly failing as a housekeeper with all the washing adding up, but days like this where you can see the Lord leading and the joy of the Lord just fills you up for being and doing exactly what He wants that helps me refocus on what’s truly important. Eternity. It’s not about having every dirty item washed, dried, ironed and put away, or having hot meals 3 times a day, or even enough water to give the kids a bath every night. My purpose in life is to glorify the Lord and walk in a way that is pleasing to him. Even if it is with a slightly stained shirt on while my kids run around with dirty feet. Or eat the dirt. 🙂 What’s most important is that at the end of the day, I know I’ve done what God wanted me to do, and my children spend a day serving the Lord and feel “it was the best day ever”! 🙂

Responses

  1. Amen to that! I like the picture. The grass roof reminds me of New Guinea!

  2. Aww… such a blessing! 🙂 ♥ 🙂

  3. Very well put Lisa! Thank you for the reminder…I needed it. Although I do not have to deal with all you do I seem to get behind all the time with house hold jobs because it is hard to stay on top of it all if I’m not home to do them! But, oh it is so GOOD to be busy about the Lord’s work and ya know eventually we do get to the bottom of the pile. God be with you my friend and may you all have many more “best days ever” as you serve our Great Saviour.


Leave a Reply

Categories

