Posted by: Lisa | February 21, 2012

Valentine’s Blessings

Valentine’s Day seems to be a holiday people either love or ignore. Me? Well, it’s our anniversary, so we celebrate it. 🙂 This year was our 8th anniversary, and I have to say- this was the year I dropped the ball. I haven’t been feeling that well lately, and couldn’t even muster up a heart shaped pancake for my sweetie. The girls and I usually have fun and go all out, but I think the Lord knew that this year I’d need a little help!

I was feeling well enough by lunchtime to decide to “go for it” and go out to lunch at the hotel in town. We brought our three children along for the romantic date, and I was armed and ready with ginger ale and Tums. 🙂 We were getting ready to order when the manager came out and asked if we’d be interested in the special Valentine’s Menu they had prepared for the dinner guests? She’d make provision for us to have it for lunch, since we (obviously) couldn’t come back for dinner.

Let me tell you, that menu was the BEST food we’ve had in Chipata to date! We got to enjoy a four course meal (!) with new foods and some old favorites we hadn’t had in a while. And the children held up incredibly well, considering that from start to finish we ended up being there for about 2 hours. They thought it was so fun, the food coming out bit by bit. I guess one good thing about the lunch-time crowd, is that it was okay for the kids to wander the gardens between courses! I wish I got a picture, but you’ll have to take my word for it- it was lovely!

We were thrilled with how the Lord worked out an extra special meal for us, and were basking in the wonderfulness of it all when we got a call from our friends that we buy water from. Because Damon had recently helped him on a project, Ishmael asked if he could bring us over some dinner. !!!

Zambians tend to eat late, so Ishmael delivered our authentic Indian dinner a little after 7- when our children, all worn out from their exciting lunch adventure, were already bathed and tucked into bed. We had the tastiest chicken, beef, chips (french fries) and chipati (Indian tortilla) with sparkling juices for a romantic, candlelit dinner for two! That I didn’t have to cook!

I did manage to get pictures of our romantic dinner…

It arrived at our kitchen door, all prepared and packaged neatly.

Not the best picture of the table setting, but I wanted to get the candle in. 🙂

The delicious dinner for two!

So, even though I was under the weather, the Lord provided an incredibly blessed anniversary celebration! The blessings of the day just reminded us to count all the blessings the Lord has given us these past 8 years together! God is good!

Responses

  1. Aww! That is so sweet! 🙂 I love it how the Lord sends those special “just-spoiling-me” blessings exactly when they really mean so much. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

