Posted by: Lisa | February 2, 2012

Moses, My New Hero

Anyone who knows me in real life, knows that the biggest hurdle for me to overcome while living in Zambia is my fear of snakes. I am simply terrified of them. There’s no other way to say it. And there’s no way to get away from the snakes here.

If I sat down and counted how many we’ve found in our yard during the time we’ve lived in Zambia, I’d become even more worrisome than I’m already prone to be, so I won’t give you an exact number. Let’s suffice it to say- several. We’ve found green mambas in the back yard, baby silver snakes under the piano, a fairly large one fell out of a trees just beyond our back door… It’s a real danger.

As you can see, Damon does not share my extreme aversion to all things serpentine.

The Lord is gradually increasing my faith in His protection. Oh, believe me, I still take lots of precautions and am fairly restrictive of when/where my children play. But I’m no longer consumed with the fear as I once was. I’m learning to “trust and obey”.

While reading my Bible this morning, though, I came across a verse mentioning snakes that actually made me smile. Exodus 4:3~  And [the Lord] said, Cast it on the ground. And he cast it on the ground, and it became a serpent; and Moses fled from before it.

Moses, the man that God used to deliver thousands of his kinsmen from bondage, the man who faced down Pharaoh, the man who was God’s instrument in parting the Red Sea. He ran from a snake. 🙂 It made me feel like I was in good company with my fear!

Now, Moses did obey the Lord and pick up the tail of that snake when instructed. He was being tested to obey the Lord, face his fears and be a man God could use to do all those incredible things. Honestly, I don’t expect God to use me to do anything incredible like freeing a nation from slavery :), but I know  that my obedience to the Lord is just as vital as Moses’ was. It was comforting to know that one of God’s “Men of Faith” has similar personal fears.

Responses

  1. Shudder! I hate snakes too. Thankfully, I don’t have to see them much here. I’ve heard that Nakuru has the puff adder, one of the deadliest, but we haven’t seen it yet. I hope we don’t! That is a blessing what you found in the Bible. Never really saw it like that. God gave me Psalm 91:13 for my fear of snakes.

    • Jessi, I’ll have to memorize that verse. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Oh boy…I just read the same passage too the other day and my daughter keeps repeating the “he threw the stick on the ground and it turn into a SNAKE!!!” Eeew. I don’t like snakes either and your hubby actually looks like he is enjoying holding that nasty creature. YUCK! No thanks! Glad you found out that Moses and you have something in common! 😉

  3. I never thought of it that way. YOU are MY hero for putting up with snakes! They are awful!!

  4. Ummmm… how did I not know you have your own blog? Like as in, where have I been?

    Okay, I just subscribed by e-mail and am looking forward to seeing the mission field through YOUR eyes! LOL!


Leave a Reply

Categories

