Posted by: Lisa | January 21, 2012

Kindness in the Kitchen

I’m working on a post recapping our recent mandatory trip to the capitol, but something happened today that was too sweet not to share. šŸ™‚

Like most mothers of little children, I sometimes feel like my days are filled with attitude corrections. For me and the children! I feel like my “to do” list often takes three times the amount of time it “should”, because I have to constantly stop and teach and guide and referee. The verse that admonishes us to not be weary in well doing often comes to mind, and the knowledge that we will reap- if I don’t faint!

Well, since her big 5 year old birthday, Felicia has really taken a lot of responsibility in her own heart. She’s been seeking out opportunities to serve. And her willing attitude rubs off on Natalie- at least a little. šŸ™‚

This morning at breakfast, the girls were having such good attitudes while I prepared Daddy’s favorite- chocolate chip pancakes.

“Mommy, can I set the table?”
“Mommy, do you want just forks, or what?”
“Mommy, I’m letting Natalie sit next to me!”
“Mommy, I help Mommy!”

Believe me, I was singing hallelujah in my heart! I know their strong spirits can be great assets when directed properly, but directing them sure takes a lot of energy! I was sure to show my joy to them with a cheerful, “There is so much kindness in the kitchen today!” šŸ™‚

That little statement just sent their little spirits into joyful overdrive. They were buzzing around, helping. laughing and playing until breakfast was prepared. When the scent of the finished meal drew Damon to the table, Felicia joyfully exclaimed, “Daddy, there’s a lot of kindness in the kitchen today!” šŸ™‚


Kindness in the kitchen- and smiles, too. It’s been great morning!

Responses

  1. Aww! šŸ™‚

  2. Sooo cute! I sometimes feel that my days are just over run with correcting and policing my children. It gets wearisome, but then…they seem to get it. For the moment anyway. šŸ™‚ I love how she is cooking with her princess dress on and by the way…chocolate chip pancakes are my hubby’s favorite too!!! šŸ™‚

  3. Those sweet little moments cannot be topped. You feel like your day will run over with happiness šŸ™‚

  4. So wise to encourage them while they are already being so good!! Thank you for the reminder.

    And that second picture…..LOVE IT!


Leave a Reply

Categories

