Posted by: Lisa | December 1, 2011

Mommy’s Market Buddy

It’s been so fun to get as much of our produce as possible at the open market! Besides feeling like the produce is fresher, knowing the prices are cheaper and enjoying the fresh air and exercise, it’s given me more of a desire to learn Chewa. I’m still way behind where Damon is, but these times at the market inspire me to add simple phrases to my vocabulary. “How much is it” would be a good place to start! Slow and sure…

So my Saturday morning routining now starts with me walking down the hill, having fun shopping for what we need and then lugging it back home- uphill the whole way!

A couple weeks ago as I was getting ready to start off, Joey was being super cute and I hated to leave him home with Damon. I wanted to soak up more of his sweetness! And then an idea struck- if I brought Joey in the stroller, it could also be used to bring the groceries home! Win-win!

We did cause quite a stir at the market. One white lady trying to communicate in only English is a novelty. But when she brings her chubby white baby boy, everyone wants to say hi! It helps that Joey is Mr. Charming and has just learned to wave. πŸ™‚ One man kindly offered to share some french fries with him. We declined. πŸ™‚

The idea of the stroller helping with the awkwardness of carrying groceries was good in theory, but I forgot that I’d also have a 20 lb child in there, too, as I pushed it back up the hill! But though it didn’t necessarily make my trip easier physically, it was a wonderful time with just my baby boy. It was such a success that IΒ now take one of the children with me every week! It’s a fun little “date with Mommy”, and since I don’t drive in Africa I’m especially thankful for this opportunity to be able to take my children out for some one-on-one time together.

This last week, I wanted a picture of my littlest cutie as we prepared to leave. He was too sweet in this little hat! I know I’m not looking, but it’s about his cuteness anyway. Besides, this angle diminishes my double chin. πŸ™‚

I love his “hat tip” in this one…

And as much as Joey enjoyed buying the vegetables, he didn’t have quite as much fun during the photo op with the cold veggies fresh from the fridge! Poor little boy!

The thought of teething on the cold carrots did cheer him up. This this little guy got four teeth in the past week or two!

Tomorrow he’ll be 8 months old, and he already has 6 teeth. Maybe he is ready for carrots!

I sure do have a cute little market buddy!

Responses

  1. Love this post! He is so stinkin’ cute! You look great by the way- no wonder with all that walking to the market with babies and veggies! πŸ˜‰

  2. Hi Lisa!!! Just discovered your blog…ahem…you did tell me about it before but I totally forgot about it! Anyway, your little man is SO cute! LOVE the picture with him and the cold veggies. LOL!!!

    Blessings!!

  3. Aww, Lisa! I’m finally getting around to leaving a comment to say you are beautiful! πŸ™‚ And what a cute post! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

