Posted by: Lisa | February 28, 2013

Valentine’s Love

I know there are many opinions on Valentine’s Day, how contrived or fake or fun it is or can be. Around here we celebrate it for the main reason that it happens to be Damon’s and my wedding anniversary. 🙂 Hearts and pink and love and cards and etc. are definitely in order!

For the first 8 years of our marriage, Valentines has been mostly about us. Not to sound selfish, but… it *is* our anniversary! 🙂

But this year, I really felt The Lord showing me my children needed a little extra boost of “mommy’s love” shown them. And what better time to do that?

I was so excited to find an idea on Pinterst that was easy to personalize .

Every night after the children were in bed, I took one piece of construction paper, folded it in such a way to make four paper hearts. I wrote something that I was thankful for about them on it and taped it by their beds. Nothing fancy. at. all.

20130228-205642.jpg

After a day or two of these notes, the girls would go to bed all giddy at the thought of waking up to another heart.

20130228-210156.jpg

Even Joey, who I did more out of courtesy than the thought he’d get anything out of it, would go to his bedroom door and point and exclaim in awe at his notes.

20130228-205130.jpg

I even woke up to my bedroom door decorated like this the first day! I love how they sweetly imitate things that make them feel loved.

20130228-210406.jpg

It was a small thing. It probably took me 2 minutes every night, but the joy that overflowed on their countenances lasted much longer. They were actually disappointed when Valentine’s arrived because it meant no more hearts. I promised to occasionally surprise them with a new one anyway.

I should check if they’re asleep yet and go make them now…

🙂


Responses

  1. How sweet that was! I will try to remember things like that. I have been praying for ideas….

  2. It looks like the kids really enjoyed this!
    That is such a neat idea! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  3. So sweet! I especially loved their participation/response!!!


Leave a comment

Categories